.

Kloppenburg Campaign Reviewing Waukesha County Ballot Information

State Supreme Court candidates campaign manager says group is comparing poll data to voting machine tapes.

Officials from the JoAnne Kloppenburg campaign are taking a look at Waukesha County ballot tapes to make sure there are no inconsistencies.

More than one dozen Kloppenburg campaign officials started to review ballots with Waukesha County Clerk Kathy Nickolaus, who on Thursday announced she made an error and forgot to report more than 14,000 votes, which took away a narrow victory margin from Kloppenburg and gave a stronger lead to incumbent Justice David Prosser.  

“We’re looking at the polling place data to compare it to the tapes and see if the numbers match up,” said Melissa Mulliken, campaign manager for Kloppenburg. “We’re looking to see if we will find any irregularities.”

Staffers reviewed the tapes Friday afternoon and they are also scheduled to continue the review Saturday.

Attorney Susan Crawford is working with the campaign representatives.

Bewildered April 14, 2011 at 08:41 PM
that's "agree' to Diane, not the all incompassing N8
Diane April 14, 2011 at 08:46 PM
thank you, Bewildered. I love it when someone agrees with me! It happens more often than not! : )
Diane April 14, 2011 at 10:40 PM
@Bob... way way above all this clutter.... The clerk that made the mistake is an elected official of the county. While obviously deluged with work and being hit on all sides with information in an election cycle, that is what she ran for in her election. She is not a unionized state worker. I don't know if as an elected official of the county if she participates in the state retirement fund or not and if she does, I don't know if she is required to pay into the system at all or not. I am glad that this will be over for round 1 tomorrow.... But then there is the potential for round 2...
Rick April 14, 2011 at 10:48 PM
@Diane and others... On the 1/2% state paid recount. As much as it doesn't make sense, I am afraid that it will be used as a tactic / excuse for Abrahamson to not take up the Budget Repair Bill / Union Bargaining Privileges because the Prossor / Kloppenburg race is still undecided. There has not been a race overturned with this wide of a margin in Wisconsin ever... and maybe not anywhere in the US. So a recount would only serve to spend money wastefully and to tie up the final declaration of a winner in the race. I can only hope that Kloppenburg is not such a party hack that she would be pushing for recounts just to delay legislation.
C T April 14, 2011 at 10:52 PM
So, if the new budget bill can't be implemented at this time, will Governor Walker be starting the layoffs of the employees that he would have laid off BEFORE this giant fiasco started?
Nate Glenn April 14, 2011 at 11:25 PM
CT, do you actually want Walker to start laying off teachers? Is that really what you want? If they start laying off the teachers, then who's going to teach the children?
Bewildered April 14, 2011 at 11:40 PM
Read today's string and DO NOT RESPOND to Nate Glenn!!!
Randy1949 April 15, 2011 at 12:20 AM
Nate, Walker can't lay off teachers. Teachers are hired by the school systems in the various local municipalities. What Walker CAN do (and has done) is to reduce state aid to education, requiring the school boards to cut somehow, either through layoffs of teachers or reductions in teacher compensation, or both. The end to collective bargaining on working conditions can lead to larger class sizes (meaning teacher layoffs) and the laying off of teachers at the discretion of a principal rather than by seniority. This is where we're going to have a real problem with money versus quality in education.
Randy1949 April 15, 2011 at 12:28 AM
Maybe Nate can't pronounce Waukesha, but I can. I grew up here, went to school here, and I still live here, with the property taxes killing me. Walker's new budget is doing nothing to help us other than forcing us to pay our own public workers less or cut services. He says he's giving us the 'tools', but I really have grown used to having my garbage picked up and my fires put out.
Rick April 15, 2011 at 01:09 AM
@ Randy I grew up in Waukesha too, went to school in Waukesha, my kids went to Waukesha schools. We recently bought a house in New Berlin (after living in Milwaukee a short time) - and for the taxes we pay, we have twice the lot. We have septic and our own well to maintain and pay to have our garbage picked up - have not had a fire to know the response time. We have not seen how Walker's budget will work. Public employees making contributions to their OWN health plans and pensions is a start.
Diane April 15, 2011 at 01:11 AM
that last comment about growing up on Waukesha was from Diane, not Rick.
C T April 15, 2011 at 01:24 AM
Ran to Aldi's tonight (great deals on food...makes up for the gas price!) and then had a fire to clean up some of the yard brush...got the fire permit this afternoon. Flicked on the TV and decided I'd rather read your comments...can you tell I'm bored? Sadly, you guys haven't been writing much.
Diane April 15, 2011 at 01:31 AM
2 C T boring is ok sometimes! The weekend is coming!
C T April 15, 2011 at 01:40 AM
Any fun plans? I'd like to head up to Madison for the rally, but my son ordered White Silkie Bantam chicken eggs on the internet the other day and they come on Saturday, so we have to be home to get them. We're going to try to incubate them and let them "free range"! Pets...not dinner, lol! They look pretty cool. Look them up on your computer...good for a giggle, especially some called "Showgirl".
Diane April 15, 2011 at 01:53 AM
@ C T Eggs are so much fun to watch hatch! Do you have a rooster so you can have eggs to eat? Dinner with my kids and grandkids tomorrow night. Grandson's 5th birthday party on Sunday at Chuck E. Cheese. Have not been there for years so Chuck E. wont know me! I have not been to anything at Madison since the chaos started so wont go this weekend. I do want to go to the Brat Fest Memorial Day weekend if the weather is good and we can ride the Harley. I dont want to look for a parking space for the car.
Randy1949 April 15, 2011 at 02:33 AM
I'm not really in Waukesha -- I'm in the Town of Brookfield. It's the Waukesha school district, though. My son went to South. I'm all for public employees paying for part of their benefit package -- UNLESS they had already bargained for less hourly pay or base salary in return for the paid benefits. In that case, it's a little unfair to change the deal, don't you think?
Rick April 15, 2011 at 02:36 AM
@CT... The finanial items were taken out of the Repair bill... that was the ace up the Republicans sleave when they had the conference committee vote. The state was able to refinance the debt but if I heard right that didn't close the entire gap. Furloughs or layoffs may still be in the mix, but I suspect Walker will try to find other ways to fill any remaining gap in the 09-10 budget. @Randy... You're correct about senority not being the only option to school districts once the Repair Bill is finally enacted. If I understood your point about quality vs cost with the principal having more say in any layoffs of teachers, i don't quite get the connection. I would think the principal would be in pretty good position to identify the "clock-punchers" in the building. It would have prevented Milwaukee from having to layoff the teacher of the year not so long ago.
Diane April 15, 2011 at 02:51 AM
@ Randy Lots of life is not fair. In the real world, because you got a pay increase last year, doesnt mean you will get one this year. Local, state, and federal governments can no longer pay out the benefits. Tax increases are no longer the answer. Everyone makes sacrifices and lives within a budget.
Randy1949 April 15, 2011 at 02:52 AM
You know that young teacher got a much better job in a different district. But seriously, if you were a principal faced with cutting some costs, which one would you lay off -- the young teacher or the older one whose salary was a lot higher? And will the welfare of the school and the students win out over "How much money can I save?"
Randy1949 April 15, 2011 at 03:17 AM
@Diane In the real world, just because you had a job last year doesn't mean you'll have one this year. Or your pension or you health insurance or anything.
Lory Bresina April 15, 2011 at 01:51 PM
@Nate- What is this "mountain of evidence" that suggests that "righties" are stealing the election?
Diane April 16, 2011 at 11:41 PM
@ Randy your point is what? I have NO pension or health insurance benefit with my employment. I am saving for my own retirement.
Randy1949 April 17, 2011 at 12:07 AM
@Diane: So your answer to this is that none of us should have pensions or health coverage? How about jobs that pay enough for us to afford private health insurance and enough left over to fund IRAs? So tell me, are you resenting your state income tax or your property tax? Because neither will decrease under Governor Walker's budget. PS: I saved for my own retirement too. As much as I could.
Diane April 17, 2011 at 12:13 AM
@ Randy Public employees need to pay into their pensions and health care like the rest of the taxpayers. I pay income and property taxes just like you, but the overspending of government budgets needs to stop. The time for unions is coming to a close - thank goodness.
Randy1949 April 17, 2011 at 12:28 AM
Unless they made a deal trading wages for benefits. Worker: I need $12 an hour to live. Employer: I will give you $10 and pay $1 towards your heal;th insurance and $1 towards your pension. It's good for both of us. Worker: Okay. Two years later . . . Employer: Greedy buzzards! they get their health and pension for free! Diane, do you really think the unions cost you money and drive your wages down? I have never worked a union job.
Diane April 17, 2011 at 12:37 AM
@ Randy The payout of those benefits are now coming due and governments (local, state, and federal) can no longer pay out without raising taxes and the public can no longer afford the increases. Yes the union cost money - the dues that employees are FORCED to pay. There is no option to opt out. The state has been collecting union dues for how long? How much administrative cost did we pay in taxes? I have never worked a union job either. When I thought I deserved a pay increase, I "bargained" for my own. I am thankful that my employers valued my work. Recently my team at work was cut in half - leaving me to do my job plus the work of the person who was forced to retire. You know what, I work longer hours for the same amount of pay - no pension, no health care, and you know what else? I AM HAPPY TO HAVE A JOB!
Randy1949 April 17, 2011 at 01:01 AM
"You know what, I work longer hours for the same amount of pay - no pension, no health care, and you know what else? I AM HAPPY TO HAVE A JOB!" Of course you are, Diane. "Jesus wept."
Diane April 17, 2011 at 12:00 PM
@ Randy for you too.................... appreciate what you have.
Diane April 17, 2011 at 12:01 PM
@ Randy 1949? We are the same age?
Randy1949 April 17, 2011 at 05:15 PM
If you were born in 1949 that means we're the same age, give or take. The thing is, I'm old enough to remember when things were not quite so bad as they are now. I know that makes me sound like some geezer shaking his cane at the heavens, but I have a son and a grandson born last summer. It will be so much harder for them to make their way through a decent life. I do appreciate what I have -- very much, but I see it slipping away.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something