.

Gov. Scott Walker's Thanksgiving Message

In his weekly radio address, governor thanks Wisconsin's volunteers, especially those who helped out victims of Hurricane Sandy.

Here is a transcript of Gov. Scott Walker's weekly radio address, which aired on Wednesday.

Hi, this is Scott Walker.

This year, Tonette and I are glad to have our oldest son, Matt, home to join with our other son, Alex, and our parents as we enjoy the blessings of our family on Thanksgiving Day. We are so very thankful for our family and friends.

It is also a time to again say thank you to the many people in our state who volunteer to help others in our schools, at senior and community centers, in places of worship and so many other locations across Wisconsin. And a special thanks to those who went east to help recover from Hurricane Sandy.

Finally, we say thank you to all of our men and women who proudly serve in the military. To them, their families and our veterans; we say a very special thank you!

From our family to yours, we hope you have a safe and peaceful Thanksgiving.

The state partners with the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association to produce and distribute brief radio address once a week.  Audio files and a written transcript of this radio address can be accessed on http://www.wi-broadcasters.org and http://walker.wi.gov/Weekly-Radio-Addresses.

Paul November 23, 2012 at 06:37 PM
Landgraf said "The Campaign Group" included Walker, Gilkes, campaign spokeswoman Jill Bader and campaign adviser R.J. Johnson. It also included several top county aides to Walker: Cindy Archer, who was county administration director; county chief of staff Tom Nardelli; spokeswoman Fran McLaughlin; housing director Timothy Russell; and Rindfleisch.
Paul November 23, 2012 at 06:39 PM
The above was a cut and paste from the article...
The Anti-Alinsky November 24, 2012 at 03:23 AM
Yes, but where in the article did it indicate that Walker, Nardelli or anyone not yet charged violates the law. What you have is a few zealous individuals trying to promote themselves by any means possible. The guilty ones have been caught and will be punished. You are just hoping, unrealistically, that this goes much further. It's been two years and counting. If anyone else was involved we would have heard about it by now!
Paul November 24, 2012 at 11:31 AM
Like I said said time will tell. He has hired a couple of the best Lawyers in the country. We will just have to make some popcorn and see how far the corruption goes. So many people with immunity, so many so close charged. Secret Internet access point setup so close to his office. Hard to believe someone could be so blind. Or maybe so dumb. Well, maybe you do have a point after all. I forgot, he was unable to make it through college.
The Anti-Alinsky November 24, 2012 at 03:36 PM
Paul, then quit with the finger pointing and let the investigation finish. BTW, when the dust settles, and Governor Walker is NOT indicted, will you go on a rampage and claim corruption in John Chisolm's office?
Frank McGruber November 24, 2012 at 06:29 PM
Bren Happy Thanksgiving! Please allow me to pour you a glass of SHUT THE HELL UP.
Paul November 24, 2012 at 06:56 PM
Things that make you go ummmmm.... http://www.newiprogressive.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=537:scott-walkers-rhetoric-versus-reality&catid=38:the-state-news&Itemid=56
The Anti-Alinsky November 26, 2012 at 02:59 AM
Gee Paul, a link to a NewProgressive. I wonder what nice things they will say about Scott Walker. Wasn't that six months of job loss nonsense shot to hell a looooooong time ago?
Paul November 26, 2012 at 12:47 PM
Well, I had to post a link with truth to it. Instead of going to the state website I found that one loaded with good info. Fact is the budget he passed is larger than the previous past budgets. This information can be found on the states website. So, if we were in such deep fiscal crisis why pass a budget larger than previous? And were did all that money go he took from the children's education. 2.2 billion dollars. And when he admitted that maybe that was to much, why didn't he return some of the funding? Courts ruled when Gov Christy took 1 billion from children's education he did irreputable harm to 1 million children. He took more than double that. This will take a few years to see. And we will see it. Why hurt so many children? And where did the money go. If you look at the budget it becomes very clear. . Go look for yourself. Read the past and present budgets. Then comment with a educated statement. You can not make statements, of form opinions till you read it and see for yourself.
Paul November 26, 2012 at 12:53 PM
While your at it feel free to fact find anything that is not true within the link I posted... Like to post only accurate info..
The Anti-Alinsky November 27, 2012 at 12:40 AM
Paul wrote: "Fact is the budget he passed is larger than the previous past budgets. This information can be found on the states website. So, if we were in such deep fiscal crisis why pass a budget larger than previous? ...Then comment with a educated statement. You can not make statements, of form opinions till you read it and see for yourself." A few facts in your statement, but a whole lotta glaring errors. 1) Yes the budget was a little larger than the previous one, but he had to pay back $200 million Diamond Jim Doyle raided from the patients compensation fund, and over $300 million from transportation. 2) Governor Walker cut 900 million from education, not 2.2 billion. AND, unlike the 300 million Diamond Jim Doyle cut from the previous budget, Governor Walker gave tools to local entities to help balance their budgets. 3) The NewProgressive doesn't count as "a link with truth to it."
Paul November 27, 2012 at 01:50 AM
Walker cut 1.6 billion from k-12, and addition 600 million from Higher Education. You do the math. He also pulled out the credit card and instead of paying down the debt he put it off. A little larger? 400 million larger. So, where did all that money go if we didn't pay down our debt? Didn't invest in quality education for our children. And didn't really create any new jobs. I think Wisconsin is still almost last in economic growth as compared to all other states. I just want to know where the 3.6 billon, plus the 400 million in additional spending totaling 4 billion dollars went to?
The Anti-Alinsky November 30, 2012 at 07:17 PM
Paul, do you have a source and link for your "facts"? Again, I mean a real source, not HuffPost or DailyKos.
Paul November 30, 2012 at 08:19 PM
Well, you can go to the states website and look at the budgets for yourself. No one has ever disputed the 1.6 billion form k-12. Some say the 600 million was actually 400 million. But in reality there was 200 million that I guess you could say doesn't directly go toward higher Ed. Even though it has an effect on the UWM'S Systems. So here is a politico fact check on putting off the debt. http://www.politifact.com/wisconsin/statements/2012/may/31/tom-barrett/barrett-says-walker-used-credit-card-approach-bala/
Paul November 30, 2012 at 08:45 PM
http://www.politifact.com/wisconsin/statements/2012/may/31/tom-barrett/barrett-says-walker-used-credit-card-approach-bala/
Paul November 30, 2012 at 08:46 PM
Now look at the paragraph bottom of page two. Yes where it talks about the growing deficit. http://www.wha.org/Data/Sites/1/medicaid/DOAletter-DHHS1-11-12.pdf
Paul November 30, 2012 at 09:04 PM
I bet the tea partners in charge make him do it. Such a corporate puppet. Walker on Monday downplayed the possibility of increasing the gas tax, currently 32.9 cents a gallon, to help pay for roads. On Tuesday, he declined to say if he would veto a gas-tax increase, but repeated that he thought such an increase was unlikely.
Paul November 30, 2012 at 09:12 PM
Last paragraph first page. Love these pdf's from Madison. http://scottwalkerwatch.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/dpinr2012_58.pdf
Stevie Janowski November 30, 2012 at 09:31 PM
Scott Walker is doing a GREAT job. Also to the libreals who bash fox news, please read this. http://dailycaller.com/2012/11/29/fox-news-wins-november-bests-msnbc-cnn-with-9-of-10-top-shows/ Thanks -Stevie Janowski
The Anti-Alinsky December 01, 2012 at 01:00 AM
Paul, here is the key paragraph in your politifact link: "Therefore, in total, since May 2011, the state has issued additional debt to restructure, or make the principal payments on, approximately $558.3 million in GPR (general purpose revenue) supported principal that would have otherwise been paid off in 2010-11 and 2011-12." In other words, since we didn't have the money to pay off money that Diamond Jim Doyle borrowed to balance HIS budgets, we had to refinance. Why do you think Diamond Jim didn't run again? How do you think Tom Barrett would have handled THAT fiscal cliff? As it was, Governor Walker was already paying down the $200 million Diamond Jim raided from the patients compensation fund AND the $300 million he raided from the transportation fund. Both of these were segregated funds and could only be used for the purposes they were set up for. As to the rest of your allegation, this link to the Post-Cresent pretty much puts it to rest. http://www.postcrescent.com/viewart/20110301/APC0101/110301150/Highlights-Wisconsin-Gov-Scott-Walker-s-two-year-budget I am thinking of putting you in the propagandist category with Bren and Johnny Wilson.
John Feia December 01, 2012 at 05:32 AM
So, what point does this make?
John Feia December 01, 2012 at 06:36 AM
If anything, it shows that FOXNews is fading from a year ago compared to the other two. In Prime Time they had a 47% increase from a year ago compared to 76% for MSNBC and 64% for CNN. In Daytime they had a 40% increase from a year ago compared to 70% for MSNBC and 59% for CNN. The numbers for 49-54 year olds are even worse... They were effective though. They only lost 8 House seats, 2 Senate seats (3 if you count Maine) and oh yeah the Presidency...again...
Paul December 01, 2012 at 02:54 PM
You never answered the question. If Walker was so worried about saving the state money. Why did he pass a larger budget than the previous budgets? And where did that money go to? What did he do with all that money he took for the children's education? You can find that info on the states website to do comparisons. Also as you remember we did not have a real deficit issue when June 30th came in 2011. But, we did have a larger deficit and growing according to that PDF letter from the DOA sent to the Feds. So as Walker continues to grow our deficit where is the savings? You should post some real evidence like I did. Letters and documents from the state would be good. As you all know according to you should turn off the news and get your info from the state in forms of documents and such. Cause http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=4Obmvybl49k&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D4Obmvybl49k
Bewildered December 01, 2012 at 03:04 PM
Not even close. There's a viewer counting system called "ratings". You may have heard of it. Fox has more the viewers than all other cable news networks COMBINED. And you know it. MSNBC is sooo small, almost doesn't register. If you are going to crow about % viewer increases, look at real #s. if MSNBC goes from 10 viewers to 17 that's a +70%, while the same 7 viewer increase off a 30 viewer base results in a only +17%. As usual, you are painting your own pictures. One would think in your party function, you'd understand ratings. Either you are distorting the actual #s to try and make your false assumption ( "Fox is fading") or just don't know the facts. Which is it? BTW, any spin on why lefty radio in Madison is unable to survive? Gee, I so miss that liberal protector of all things Obama, Sly.
Bewildered December 01, 2012 at 03:12 PM
Yup, GoodFela, sure looks as if "Fox is Fading". NOT !!! " FNC recorded highs for daytime programming, including “The Five,” “America Live with Megyn Kelly,” “America’s Newsroom” and “Happening Now.” Additionally, the network’s long-running shows “Fox & Friends,” “Studio B with Shepard Smith” and “Your World with Neil Cavuto” all had their highest total viewers since September 2005. One bright spot for MSNBC was the strong showing for “The Rachel Maddow Show,” particularly in the key 25-54 demo. Maddow’s show was the lone standout in the top 10 for either MSNBC or CNN"
Dunncountydem December 02, 2012 at 05:13 PM
Our Governor's great use of non-profit and tax-payers money. Honestly, were is the outrage? http://m.jsonline.com/blogs/purple-wisconsin/172369071.html http://m.jsonline.com/147942785.htm Cross posted from jsonline...see reporter and source before arguing against... http://www.veteransnewsnow.com/2012/01/05/veterans-funds-stolen-by-scott-walker-cronies-in-growing-scandal/ And this speaks to our Governor's open government promise and proper use of money: http://news.wpr.org/post/walker-defends-wedc-against-hud-letter
The Anti-Alinsky December 02, 2012 at 05:29 PM
Paul wrote: "You never answered the question. If Walker was so worried about saving the state money. Why did he pass a larger budget than the previous budgets? And where did that money go to? What did he do with all that money he took for the children's education?" Paul, yes I did answer your question. We had to pay back funds raided by Diamond Jim Doyle. Paul also wrote: "You can find that info on the states website to do comparisons. Also as you remember we did not have a real deficit issue when June 30th came in 2011." That is because Governor Walker and the Republican Legislature presented a balanced budget WITH NO STRUCTURAL DEFICIT. Paul also wrote: "But, we did have a larger deficit and growing according to that PDF letter from the DOA sent to the Feds. So as Walker continues to grow our deficit where is the savings?" You should have read that letter a little more carefully. The balanced budget that Governor Walker eventually signed had no STRUCTURAL deficit. You seem to be confusing debt with deficit, so let me explain briefly. A deficit is when you spend more money in a budget year than you bring in. Debt, is the accumulation of yearly deficits. As we have done for the past several years, Governor Walker had to ignore some Generally Accepted Accounting Prinicples (GAAP) in order to balance the budget. GAAP is a goal he is working for, but eliminating the 316 BILLION structural debt was a great start.
The Anti-Alinsky December 02, 2012 at 05:30 PM
Finally, Paul wrote: "You should post some real evidence like I did..." I wouldn't consider a website that has as it's tagline "Scott Walker Watch|Keeping an Eye on This Radical Extremist" as either unbiased or credible. Yes, it is a source, but not a reliable one.
Paul December 02, 2012 at 09:04 PM
If you look at the source part I was talking about it is the letter in PDF form from his DOA head. Also if you want to call deferring the loan payments balancing the budget then fine. But, I would not. Like I said by June 30th 2013 we will see what kind of fiscal mess will ae in. And who knows where he will be by then. Only time will tell. But, the investigation could very well be still going on.
The Anti-Alinsky December 03, 2012 at 01:15 AM
Again Paul, read the letter from Mike Huebsch to Kathleen Sebelius. The paragraph you keep wanting to claim as a smoking gun reads: "As indicated below, this letter is to certify that Wisconsin WOULD have a budget deficit, based on generally accepted accounting principles, during state fiscal years 2012 and 2013 IF the maintenance of effort requirements under section 1902 (gg) applied in Wisconsin with respect to nonpregnant, nondisabled adults eligible for Medicaid under the State Plan, AND whose income exceeds 133 percent ot the poverty line applicabe to a family of the size involved." (emphasis added) In other words, implementing B.O.Care would put an undue burden on Wisconsin this year and next year if we don't get the exception.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something